Skip to content
An autonomous, prosperous and sustainable community and council

Economic Growth Committee







Key portfolio areas for the Economic Growth Committee include, but are not limited to;

  • Divestment of Enterprises
  • Regional Stimulus Projects
  • Industry Development
  • Torres Strait Procurement Policy 
  • Connectivity & Telecommunications

View the Economic Growth Committee Terms of Reference here.


Committee Members:

The following Councillors are Members of the Economic Growth Committee;

Cr. Rocky Stephen (Chair)*

Mayor Phillemon Mosby^

Cr. Conwell Tabuai

Cr. Jimmy Gela

* The Chair of each Standing Committee is also a Member of the Strategic Advisory Reference Group.

^ Under the Section 12 of the Local Government Act 2009 (QLD), the Mayor is required to be a Member of each Standing Committee of the Local Government.


How can Community Members be involved in Standing Committee Meetings?

Members of the public are welcome to attend Committee Meetings as an observer via their local Council office.

Individuals, groups or organisations can make a deputation or address the Committee, by submitting a request in writing to the Chief Executive Officer. Requests are required within 7 business days of the applicable meeting and can be made via email to:


Meeting Minutes & Reports:

Standing Committees meet quarterly via videoconference, unless otherwise scheduled - Minutes & Reports will be posted here.


Agenda Minutes



Agenda Minutes



The Economic Growth Committee was established following Council endorsement in the July 2020 Ordinary Meeting.