Skip to content
An autonomous, prosperous and sustainable community and council

Climate Change Adaptation and Environment Committee







Key portfolio areas for the Climate Change Adaptation and Environment Committee include, but are not limited to;

  • Torres Strait Climate Change Strategy
  • Torres Strait Sea Wall Program/Project
  • Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area Biosecurity Plan
  • Renewable Energy Production
  • Waste Management
  • Land & Sea Management

View the Climatee Change Adaption and Environment Committee Terms of Reference here.


Committee Members:

The following Councillors are Members of the Climate Change Adaptation and Environment Committee;

Cr. Hilda Mosby (Chair)*

Mayor Phillemon Mosby^

Cr. Seriako Dorante

Cr. Kabay Tamu

* The Chair of each Standing Committee is also a Member of the Strategic Advisory Reference Group.

^ Under the Section 12 of the Local Government Act 2009 (QLD), the Mayor is required to be a Member of each Standing Committee of the Local Government.


How can Community Members be involved in Standing Committee Meetings?

Members of the public are welcome to attend Committee Meetings as an observer via their local Council office.

Individuals, groups or organisations can make a deputation or address the Committee, by submitting a request in writing to the Chief Executive Officer. Requests are required within 7 business days of the applicable meeting and can be made via email to:


Meeting Minutes & Reports:

Standing Committees meet quarterly via videoconference, unless otherwise scheduled. 


Agendas Minutes